Guide on Removing Google Accounts From Smartphones

  • 25-05-2022 |
  • Polad Aladi

Many modern gadgets are tied to specific Google accounts because access to the full range of functions is possible only through them. When selling or transferring devices to other users, you need to remove all content, including any sensitive data like profile information. We’ll tell you how to erase your Google account details from a particular device completely.

Why Is It Necessary?

Google account is a big hub where various information can be stored: your emails, passwords, bookmarks, documents, photos, and much more. It will be terrible if this data falls into the hands of scammers. Before transferring devices to other people or selling them, it is highly recommended to delete all your details. Fortunately, if you also need to remove all other files from your smartphone along with your Google account data, you can simply reset it to factory settings.

Besides, the need to delete the Google profile may arise if you have several accounts and the need for one of them has disappeared. Such cleaning is recommended to be carried out periodically to avoid littering the device’s memory with unnecessary information. Especially since having unused profiles that still store your data can threaten your security.

What Happens When You Delete a Profile?

Modern Android devices are very much connected to Google user profiles. The fact is that they provide quick access to many functions and applications. By deleting your account information, you will no longer be able to use them on a particular device. At the same time, since all data is stored in the cloud, you can restore access to it by simply logging into your account again. Using Android smartphones and tablets without logging into a Google account is very difficult for ordinary people. Developers can utilize open-source apps or mods.

How to Delete One Profile Data?

Before deleting, make sure that you have backed up all important information. Also, memorize which services and applications are linked to a particular account to enter them using another account. So, to erase the data of one profile, follow these steps (using Pixel phones as an example):

  1. On your device, open “Settings” and find the “Passwords & Accounts” section.
  2. In “Accounts for,” you will spot a list of all available accounts. Pick the email address you want to delete.
  3. Hit the “Remove” button. You will receive a pop-up window asking you to make sure you really want to delete the data. Confirm the action.

If you are logged into only one account, you will have to enter a PIN to delete the profile.

How to Delete Data of All Profiles?

If you need to erase all data from your device, for example, before selling, the fastest way to do it is to reset it to factory settings. Here’s how to do it (using Pixel phones as an example):

  1. Open “Settings” and go to the “System” section.
  2. Find the line “Reset Options” and confirm the action in the pop-up window.
  3. Enter your device password or PIN. After that, the data of all Google accounts on this smartphone or tablet, as well as the contents of the memory, will be deleted.

Now your device is completely clean and ready for resale. As you can see, the whole process will not take much effort or time. It is pretty simple and clear and, at the same time, guarantees the security of your sensitive data. In no case do not give your smartphone to strangers while it has confidential information such as access to your Google account. Before selling, follow the steps in the article to make sure that all details are erased.

Have you ever deleted your Google account data? In your opinion, should developers allow smartphone owners to use devices without being tied to profiles?